Announcements‎ > ‎

11th Annual IMA Judges Announced

posted Aug 10, 2011, 10:35 AM by Vu Nguyen

Tom Waits, Kathleen Brennan, Tori Amos, Joshua Redman,
Ozzy Osbourne, Del McCoury, Suzanne Vega, Michael Franti, Bettye LaVette Among The 11th Annual
Independent Music Awards Judges

The Independent Music Awards® (The IMAs), the international awards program for self-released and independent label talent announced today that the distinguished husband and wife songwriting team of Tom Waits and Kathleen Brennan; celebrated singer/songwriter Tori Amos; multi-genre song stylist Bettye LaVette; influential jazz saxophonist and composer Joshua Redman; bluegrass legend Del McCoury; acclaimed folk/singer-songwriter Suzanne Vega; legendary "Godfather of Heavy Metal" Ozzy Osbourne; acclaimed composer and frontman of the band Spearhead Michael Franti; join other prominent performing artists and industry professionals who will help determine the winners of The 11th annual Independent Music Awards, currently accepting submissions at

Other artists and industry who have joined this year’s panel include Shelby Lynne, Amy Ray (Indigo Girls), Jim Lauderdale, Jonatha Brooke, Judy Collins, Lee Ritenour, DJ Spooky, Fall Out Boy bassist and Decaydance Records Founder Pete Wentz, Benji Madden and Joel Madden (Good Charlotte), Vijay Iyer, Rolling Stone Contributing Editor Anthony DeCurtis, New York Times contributor and “Live From The Artists Den” Director of Programming Alan Light, Lincoln Center Programming Director Bill Bragin, Vans Warped Tour Founder Kevin Lyman, Playtone Films Music Supervisor Delphine Robertson, Kerrville Folk Director Dalis Allen, Relix Editor-in-Chief Josh Baron, Newport Jazz Festival Artistic Director Jason Olaine, American Songwriter Editor Evan Schlansky and Putumayo World Music Founder Dan Storper among many others.

More artist and industry panelists will be announced prior to the October 14th submission deadline.

Program details and a complete list of judges is available at

Artistry Has Its Awards

The Independent Music Awards is a unique, international program that connects independent musicians to new audiences and revenue opportunities. Produced by Music Resource Group, publisher of The Musician’s Atlas, The IMAs uses its unrivaled access to performance, promotion & distribution opportunities to place winners & nominees in front of millions of music fans, talent buyers, music supervisors, media outlets, and licensing opportunities.

Self-released and independent label talent from 6 continents and 74 countries submit their work in 70 album, song, music video and design categories.

A short-list of past winners and nominees includes: Jackson Browne & David Lindley, Flying Lotus, Melissa Auf der Maur, Pokey LaFarge & The South City Three, Koko Taylor, Roman Miroshnichenko, The Very Best, The Trews, Holly Go Lightly, Martin Sexton, Jamie Lidell, Johnny Dowd, Amy Speace, The Apples in stereo, Lacuna Coil, God Forbid, Sweet Honey In The Rock, Jeff Healey, Dengue Fever, Joan As Police Woman, Twilight Hotel, Speech, Mary Gauthier, Jennifer Nettles, Girl In A Coma, Rachael Sage, Marco Benevento, Dan Zanes and many others.

The deadline for submissions to the 11th annual edition of the IMAs is midnite, Friday, October 14, 2011. Winners and nominees will be promoted throughout 2012.

Details and entry forms are available at: