Announcements‎ > ‎

Young Widows Will Release Old Wounds on Temporary Residence Ltd.

posted Jul 16, 2008, 1:13 PM by Vu Nguyen
From AAM


Young WidowsWhen singer Steve Sindoni amicably parted ways with the influential Louisville, KY noise band Breather Resist in late 2005, the remaining members decided to press on with guitarist Evan Patterson taking on lead vocal duties.  However, by the time they recorded the album, the band's sound had developed into a darker, reverb-drenched cacophony that effectively closed the door on Breather Resist for good, thus christening Young Widows.  That album, Settle Down City, was urgent, dirty, and histrionic.  Patterson was still obviously adapting to his dual roles, and the production called for little more than a handful of mics in an empty room.
Arriving two years later, Old Wounds completes Young Widows' transformation into a top-shelf rock band firing on all cylinders.  Forging the best parts of Nirvana, The Jesus Lizard, Nick Cave, PJ Harvey, Fugazi, and The Melvins, Old Wounds is a series of dynamic, thoughtful tunes that will certainly push most speakers to their breaking point.  And yet, as brilliant as the songs are, the production itself is a unique achievement.
For the record, the band reunited with Breather Resist uber-producer (and Converge guitarist) Kurt Ballou.  Ballou had been eager to experiment with recording in multiple environments, with the intent of capturing the definitive take of each song for the final cut of the album.  Since the band felt most at ease playing live shows, they brought Ballou along on tour to record all of their shows.  In addition, they recorded multiple sets in their rehearsal space, and another set at Ballou's Godcity Studios in Boston, MA.  After tediously combing through a dozen hours of recordings, they compiled and mixed the album, at times literally splicing sections of songs together from different sessions (and keeping the crowd noise for good measure).  Only the best takes of the strongest songs made the cut, and the result is a bonafide classic, overflowing with the sweaty euphoria of a great live show, and the high replay value of a perfectly sequenced, well-produced rock record.  

1.  Took A Turn (3:17)
2.  Old Skin (1:47)
3.  Mr. No Harm (2:17)
4.  The Guitar (2:51)
5.  Lucky And Hardheaded (2:21)
6.  21st Century Invention (4:08)
7.  The Heat Is Here (1:51)
8.  Delay Your Pressure (3:52)
9.  Let Him Be (2:22)
10. (2:34)
11. Swamped and Agitated (5:20)