Announcements‎ > ‎

Austin's Gold Beach release debut LP 9/6!

posted Aug 11, 2011, 12:45 AM by Vu Nguyen   [ updated Aug 11, 2011, 12:50 AM ]

Gold Beach
 is the two-year musical experiment of Michael Winningham and Tony Daugherty.  Michael and Tony grew up on the same street in Houston, TX and started writing music at the age of fourteen in Tony’s parents house. After a move to Austin, they continued writing together, though most of those songs were performed in other bands.

In 2004, a long process began to write a collection of songs with no particular agenda. “We wanted to see what would happen if we didn’t rely on our comfort zones to create music,” says Winningham. The basic idea was to try using the recording studio as a way to write music, patiently sculpting a unique musical presence and personality. Over 25 songs were recorded in various ways and with various people, but only 11 tracks were kept together.

David Brown, of the NPR program Texas Music Matters, called Habibti an early front-runner for one of the best records of 2011. 

Much local talent from the Austin area is associated with the Gold Beach recordings or live band, including: Jeremy Gomez (Mineral, Gloria Record), Carlos Orozco (The Western Keys, Black Drum Set), Nicole Kern (Balmorhea), Evan Jacobs (Tacks the Boy Disaster, Polyphonic Spree), Andy Sharp (Engineer, Mates of State), and Henna Chou (My Education, Fiction). 

2011 will be a jumping off point for Gold Beach, a new beginning of performing music a long time in the making.  

Artist - Gold Beach
Album - Habibti
US Release Date - September 6, 2011

Track Listing:

01. Habibi
02. Until You
03. Gold Beach
04. Hands of Ether
05. I, Testify
06. I'm Not Yours
07. Everyone I Know
08. Perfect Weights
09. Skin of Yours
10. Phantom Limb
11. Diving Bell

Gold Beach on Twitter