Announcements‎ > ‎

Carla Bruni's 3rd Album Release August 5th Stateside

posted Jul 31, 2008, 8:42 AM by Vu Nguyen
From Press Here

Interview & performance on ABC’s 20/20 with Barbara Walters this Friday

Carla Bruni’s third album, Comme si de rien n’était  ("As if Nothing Had Happened"), will be released on CD in the US on August 5th by Downtown Records. Already a # 1 hit in France, #3 in the Billboard European Albums Chart and top 5 on iTunes in Italy, Spain, Germany, Portugal, Switzerland, Belgium, Austria and the Netherlands, the album was made available digitally in the US last week and debuted at #3 on the Billboard World Chart and # 39 on the Billboard Heatseeker  Chart.
Produced by Dominique Blanc-Francard, the critically lauded album features 10 original compositions by Carla Bruni, one song written in collaboration with French novelist Michel Houellebecq,  another with singer Julien Clerc, and two cover songs, including a stunning version of Bob Dylan’s “You Belong To Me."  At Carla Bruni's request, her royalties from the album will be donated to Fondation de France, for charitable and humanitarian causes.

Comme si de rien n’etait is the follow-up to 2007’s No Promises, which debuted at #1 in both the Billboard European Top 100 Albums Charts & the French Album Charts.  

Tune in this Friday, August 1st at 10pm(EST), for an exclusive Carla Bruni interview & performance on ABC’s 20/20 with Barbara Walters. Carla was shot by Annie Leibovitz for the cover of Vanity Fair’s September ‘08 issue - on stands  now.  
Comme si de reien n’était – track list:
1. ma jeunesse
2. la possibilité d'une île
3. l'amoureuse
4. tu es ma came
5. salut marin
6. ta tienne
7. péché d'envie
8. you belong to me
9. le temps perdu
10. déranger les pierres
11. je suis une enfant
12. l'antilope
13. notre grand amour est mort
14. il vecchio e il bambino 

Some praise for Comme si de rien n’etait:

“The album is about love, if not a specific love, and about the passage of time. Those themes, and Bruni's intimate, husky voice, by turns silk and gravel, playful and melancholic, are familiar from her first album, Quelqu'un M'a Dit, a folksy, me-and-my-guitar production that she recorded pretty much in her kitchen and took almost everyone pleasantly by surprise, selling 1.2m copies in France and a further 800,000 around the world.”

The Guardian (UK)

Musically, Bruni's latest album constitutes a fairly sizeable step beyond her previous efforts, which were largely restricted to simple, folksy settings in which nothing was allowed to obscure her husky, semi-spoken vocals. This time, producer Dominique Blanc-Francard has surrounded Bruni's intimate whispers with a range of subtly sophisticated arrangements drawing on roots modes, with clarinet and vibes lending an antique Parisian swing tone to "Le Temps Perdu", delicate harp arpeggios and a gentle undertow of organ anchoring "Déranger les pierres", and mandolin, foot-taps and smears of violin transforming "L'Antilope" into a French variant of Appalachian mountain music.” - The Independent (UK)