Announcements‎ > ‎

Casper & the Cookies Release Exclusive Tracks Off Upcoming Album!

posted Oct 13, 2008, 9:36 AM by Vu Nguyen
From Casper & The Cookies


Casper and the Cookies by Courtnie Wolfgang

First exclusive track, "Little King", up now at Three Imaginary Girls!

In anticipation of their third album, Modern Silence, Casper & the Cookies are releasing three exclusive digital tracks to the blogosphere. These songs, a sampling of what's to come from the follow-up release to 2006's The Optimist's Club are the culmination of nine hard months of recording for the Cookies with a little help from their friend, Bill Doss (Olivia Tremor Control, Apples in Stereo, The Sunshine Fix). During the month of October, one previously unreleased song will be released each week. 

It's week two of our October music extravaganza.  Last week Three Imaginary Girls featured "Little King".  This week, Optical Atlas will have exclusive dibs on "Sunshine Girl," Kay Stanton's home brew of space-gospel and distorted drums.  Look for it on Friday, October 17th. 

10/10: Three Imaginary Girls ( now!

10/17: Optical Atlas (

10/24: You Ain't No Picasso (

Jason NeSmith on the new album: "Modern Silence: a phrase that evokes a number of themes. We used most of them: awkward long distance phone calls-- language barriers-- social anxiety-- absence (or a general lack of presence)--a sudden numbing realization that one can no longer think of oneself as a good person--extraterrestrial friendship—and of course jazz-mime."

Casper & the Cookies played more than 150 shows in support of The Optimist's Club, with such notable acts as The Apples in Stereo, Black Kids, Architecture in Helsinki, and The Blow.  A Japan tour followed the release of the album on Japanese label Waikiki Records earlier this year. While the release date of Modern Silence is still undetermined, the Cookies are looking forward to hitting the road again in 2009 to promote the sixteen new songs that came out of the Modern Silence Sessions…all the more reason to check out these pre-releases!