Announcements‎ > ‎

Copenhagen's Lower Sign To Matador, Announce New Record And Tour Dates, Share New Song

posted Apr 3, 2014, 7:24 AM by Vu Nguyen
Copenhagen quartet Lower
have announced that they've signed with Matador, and their eagerly anticipated debut album, Seek Warmer Climes, will see release June 17thThe record sparkles with the harmonic dissonance and high-strung urgency of their underground rock forebears, but Lower ­- Adrian Toubro (vocals), Simon Formann (guitar), Kristian Emdal (bass) and Anton Rothstein (drums) - also channel the romance and drama of great singer-songwriters, from late-period Scott Walker to Bryan Ferry. The result is a hugely ambitious and affecting rock album that enters deeply personal and unusual sonic and topical spaces.

 

Certainly, you don't have to dig deep to hear how far Lower's music sits from the traditional concerns of modern rock music. Toubro's lyrics are finely wrought emotional dramas that, in their poetic construction and raw honesty of delivery, gesture to the music of Walker or Leonard Cohen. "Every song on the record deals in some way with personal development, be it emotional or cosmetic," says Toubro. "How to act in different social contexts, and to acclimatize oneself into a given situation without losing face." They've shared the first single off the record, "Lost Weight, Perfect Skin," a perfect representation of the trauma inherent in "cosmetic improvement."Also, the band has announced a slew of US dates that will fall before the record's release, as well as dates in the UK with Fucked Up.

 

Seek Warmer Climes Tracklist:

01. Another Life  

02. Daft Persuasion

03. Lost Weight, Perfect Skin

04. Unkempt And Uncaring

05. Expanding Horizons (Dar Es Salam)

06. Bastard Tactics  

07. Soft Option  

08. Craver  

09. Tradition  

10. Arrows

 

Lower Tour Dates:

Thurs. May 1 - Sun. May 4 - SPOT Festival - Aarhus, DK

Fri. May 16 - Sat. May 17 - The Church On York - Los Angeles, CA (with Iceage, Puce Mary, Sexdrome)

Sun. May 18 - Wall Street - Phoenix, AZ

Mon. May 19 - Soda Bar - San Diego, CA

Tue. May 20 - Holland Project - Reno, NV

Wed. May 21 - Hemlock Tavern, San Francisco, CA

Thu. May 22 - 1234 Go! - Oakland, CA

Fri. May 23 - Munoz Boxing Gym - Bakersfield, CA

Sat. May 24 - E 7th Street - Los Angeles, CA

Tue. May 27 - Cafe Nine - New Haven, CT

Wed. May 28 - Home Sweet Home (Nothing Changes) - New York, NY

Thu. May 29 - Golden Tea House - Philadelphia, CA

Fri. May 30 - Acheron - Brooklyn, NY

Tue. June 10 - Point Ephemere - Paris, FR

Sun. June 15 - Gorilla - Manchester, UK (with F  Up)

Mon. June 16 - The Cluny - Newcastle, UK (with F  Up)

Tue. June 17 - Belgrave - Leeds, UK (with F Up)

Wed. June 18 - Koko - London, UK (with F Up)

 

pitchperfectpr.com
Comments