Announcements‎ > ‎

DINOSAUR JR Announce New Album - Out June 23rd

posted Mar 25, 2009, 11:19 AM by Vu Nguyen
From Press Here

Dinosaur Jr.


( Jagjaguwar, June 23rd)


The worry about the reunion of the original Dinosaur Jr. line-up, more than 20 years after their formation and legendary dissolution, was that these guys were just flogging the back catalog as a marketing gimmick. With the release of Beyond, in 2007, the band gave a hearty Marshall-driven “F**K YOU!” answer to those inquiring ears. Restoring the sound established by the opening hat-trick gambit of Dinosaur, You’re Living All Over Me, and Bug, the Beyond record continued the band’s march into rock greatness by making old ears smile and new ears bleed afresh. And now comes Farm, the fifth full length record by the original line-up—J Mascis, Lou Barlow, and Murph--set to release on their new label home Jagjaguwar on June 23rd.


If Beyond was Dinosaur Jr.’s return to form, Farm is proof that this band continues to deliver that which makes rock worth cranking to 11.  At times wholly 70’s guitar-epic, at times perfect for sitting by a babbling brook with Joni and Neil, Farm encompasses Dinosaur Jr.’s signature palette – soaring and distorted guitar, unshakable hooks, honey-rich melodies – songs that get into your head and, bouncing around happily, stay there. The ear-catching “Plans” is nearly 7 minutes of classic whipped-topping rock dessert, while “I Don’t Wanna Go There” is a meat-and-potatoes main dish, mixing unapologetic lead guitar with straight-ahead delivery a la James Gang or Humble Pie.  These two tunes round out twelve tracks propelled by the unique energy of one of America’s greatest living rock bands hitting their stride.


Farm was recorded in J Mascis’ Bisquiteen studio in Amherst, Massachusetts, and was produced by Mascis. The band will be touring throughout April, showcasing their new tracks in intimate venues. With the purchase of a ticket to these select shows, fans will receive either a limited edition, tour-only 7", or a digital download code.  The A-Side is new track, "I Don't Wanna Go There," while the B-Side is a revisited classic, "Tarpit," from You're Living All Over Me.


Tracklisting for Farm:

            1. Pieces

            2. I Want You To Know

            3. Ocean In The Way

            4. Plans

            5. Your Weather

            6. Over It

            7. Friends

            8. Said The People

            9. There’s No Here

            10. See You

            11. I Don’t Wanna Go There

            12. Imagination Blind