Announcements‎ > ‎

Downtown/Union enlist half of The Henry Clay People for "Aurora Ahora" full length

posted Apr 15, 2009, 11:18 AM by Vu Nguyen
From Yukon

Downtown/Union enlist half of The Henry Clay People for Aurora Ahora full length




“It's heart-on-your-sleeve rock 'n' roll with a sincerity rarely heard nowadays.” – LA Record


“Unapologetically fun rock 'n' roll music; they have fun playing it, from the sound of things, and that makes it fun to listen to.” – Grave Concerns


“Every single sound seems to come from a garage that's about to collapse for good” – Indie For Bunnies




Downtown/Union is an indie-driven garage rock band from the east side of Los Angeles featuring Bo Bory on guitar and Jeff Electric on drums. With their heart on the sleeve lyrics, fuzzed out guitars and bouncy drums, they are known for their high energy sets. Over the years their live performances have garnered them some notice that has landed them on stage alongside the likes of Radar Bros., The Henry Clay People, Pity Party, Fol Chen and some others of LA’s finest.  Last year, the duo released Six Song Super Set EP which received strong local praise and radio support from Indie103.1.


Downtown/Union and The Henry Clay People have played a lot of shows together over the years and the guys became fast friends with Andy and Joey Siara from HCP.  One day Andy and Joey said they wanted to rock out with Downtown/Union and soon the two piece was a four piece and they entered the studio to record their debut full length Aurora Ahora with Joey Siara helping on lead guitar and Andy Siara on bass. Other local friends, John and Shaggy from Seasons added additional layers of organ, keys and trumpet to two tracks.


Aurora Ahora is ten tracks exploring such universal and often times diametrical themes of freedom, longing for home, unity, falling in love, not wanting to fall in love, hooking up, ducking out, rescue from feeling desolate, toxic relationships and spacing out.  The songs are varied in structure and are comprised of anthemic ballads, dirty pop ditties, garage flavored rockers and a couple of arty rock pieces with driving beats, wailing leads, buzzing bass lines and choral backing vocals. The opening track starts you off on a subway train where you run into someone that you once knew all too well and takes you on a journey that ends in the depths of the wandering mind.  Aurora Ahora is slated for release on April 28th.  The band will celebrate the release on April 30th at The Echo in Los Angeles.




01.  Wake Up Call from the Nexus of Me and You

02.  What No One Else Can See

03.  Bright Idea

04.  The Widowmaker and The Commandant

05.  Blood and Wine

06.  Gypsy Carousel

07.  Pretty Baby Aquanet

08.  Hearts Fall from Aeroplanes

09.  Tree Heart Cloud

10.  Super Nova





Upcoming Shows:

April 30 @ The Echo “record release” w/Xu Xu Fang, Voyeurs, Voices Voices






Downtown/Union are:

Bo Bory – Vocals, Guitar

Jeff Electric – Drums, Vocals

Joey Siara – Guitar, Vocals

Andy Siara – Bass, Vocals



Visit the band online: