Announcements‎ > ‎

Hüsker Dü and Numero Group release deluxe box set spanning 1979 - 1983

posted Sep 7, 2017, 6:20 AM by Vu Nguyen
The Numero Group has officially announced the release of SAVAGE YOUNG DÜ, a new deluxe box set chronicling the extraordinary early years of Hüsker Dü. SAVAGE YOUNG DÜ is available beginning Friday, November 10th.
Available on four LPs or three CDs, SAVAGE YOUNG DÜ compiles 69 tracks - 47 of them previously unreleased - spanning the Saint Paul, MN-based trio's formative 1979 live shows to their milestone early releases via SST Records, including first singles "Statues" b/w "Amusement" (1981) and "In A Free Land" (1982), as well as 1983's full-length debut album, EVERYTHING FALLS APART, and an alternate recording of 1982's seminal live recording, LAND SPEED RECORD. Newly remastered from the original analog demos, board tapes, and session masters, the anthology is accompanied by a hardbound book highlighted by an epic history of Hüsker Dü, penned with full participation from founding members Grant Hart, Greg Norton, and Bob Mould, as well as 40 never-before seen photos, a remarkable collection of rare flyers, and detailed sessionography.
In addition, a limited edition bonus 7'' will be available with all Numero Group mail orders while supplies last. EXTRA CIRCUS collects five previously unissued songs recorded during the Christmas 1982 sessions that yielded the following year's landmark METAL CIRCUS. Available exclusively as a vinyl 7'', EXTRA CIRCUS comes packaged in the full color sleeve designed by Grant Hart and intended for the original release of METAL CIRCUS.
 The announcement of SAVAGE YOUNG DÜ was greeted with wide-ranging media attention, including Rolling Stone, Pitchfork, and NPR Music, which premiered the collection in its entirety via an extensive "First Listen" feature. "It sounds incredible," writes NPR's Michaelangelo Matos, "even the cruddiest source material rings through with maximal volume and clarity...The thrill of SAVAGE YOUNG DÜ is hearing three young men figuring out how to turn their dissatisfaction with the world into glorious noise in more-or-less real time."
Hüsker Dü is of course among the most influential and iconic bands to rise up from the hardcore punk underground, marrying Mould and Hart's glorious songwriting with punishing noise, breakneck tempos, and unstoppable invention to create what remains a truly original vision of American music.
"We created this blistering wall of sound," says Bob Mould, "bright white radio static with occasional melody."
"It was like rolling down a hill aware of the bumps," Grant Hart says, "but focusing on blowing people's minds and completely wearing out the audience."
"We didn't know what hardcore was," says Greg Norton. "We just got up there and played real fast and loud."
For more information, please visit NUMEROGROUP.COM.

(Numero Group)
Release Date: November 10th, 2017

1. Do You Remember?
2. Sore Eyes
3. Can't See You Anymore
4. Picture Of You
5. The Truth Hurts
6. Do The Bee
7. Nuclear Nightmare
8. All I've Got To Lose Is You
9. Chinese Rocks
10. Uncle Ron
11. Data Control
12. Insects Rule The World
13. You're Too Obtuse
14. Outside
15. Sexual Economics
16. What Went Wrong
17. Statues
18. Amusement
19. Writer's Cramp
20. Let's Go Die
21. Walk With The Wounded
22. Industrial Grocery Store
1. Drug Party
2. Call On Me
3. Termination
4. I'm Tired Of Doing Things
5. Stick It To Me
6. Wheels
7. All Tensed Up
8. Don't Try To Call
9. I'm Not Interested
10. Guns At My School
11. Push The Button
12. Gilligan's Island
13. MTC
14. Don't Have A Life
15. You're Naive
16. Strange Week
17. Big Sky
18. Ultracore
19. Let's Go Die
20. Won't Say A Word
21. Don't Try It
22. Private Hell
23. Diane
24. Sex Dolls
1. In A Free Land
2. What Do I Want?
3. M.I.C.
4. Target
5. Signals From Above
6. From The Gut
7. Blah, Blah, Blah
8. Punch Drunk
9. Bricklayer
10. Afraid Of Being Wrong
11. Sunshine Superman
12. Signals From Above
13. Everything Falls Apart
14. Wheels
15. Target
16. Obnoxious
17. Gravity
18. Do You Remember?
19. Travel In Opposite Car
20. It's Not Funny Anymore
21. Real World
22. Out On A Limb
23. It's Not Fair
1. Heavy Handed
2. You Think I'm Scared
3. Won't Change
4. Is Today The Day?
5. Standing At The Sea