Announcements‎ > ‎

THE KILLS Re-Release Keep On Your Mean Side

posted Apr 15, 2009, 1:50 PM by Vu Nguyen
From Press Here

THE KILLS Re-Release Keep On Your Mean Side

Debut Album +5 Bonus Tracks out May 5, 2009



The 2003 release of Keep On Your Mean Side, the stunning debut album by transatlantic duo The Kills, a.k.a Alison Mosshart and Jamie Hince, heralded the arrival of a creative force that has developed over the last five years into an innovative, boundary pushing rock group. Keep On Your Mean Side was recorded at London’s legendary analogue studio Toe Rag after a 50 date US tour upon which the band drove themselves around in a convertible to hone the songs they’d begun writing via exchanged cassette demos, mailed across the ocean. The album was immediately critically lauded internationally, and has become a touchtone album for a new generation of blues and garage inspired bands, an album that still sounds as vital, fresh and breathtaking as it did upon release. This Domino reissue includes 5 rare bonus b-sides bringing all the Keep On Your Side sessions together for the first time, including covers of Dock Boggs’ “Sugar Baby”, Jonathan Fire*eater’s “The Search For Cherry Red” and Captain Beefheart’s “Dropout Boogie” (also a favorite from the band’s wild, intense live show). This May, Domino Records will re-release the record that launched the tw0some into the spotlight.


Praise for KOYMS:

“A record of substance, one that stands head and shoulders above today’s garage bashers”- MOJO

“A bruising disc of post-modern blues”- Rolling Stone

“Once upon a time rock’n’roll was all about the sex you really shouldn’t have The Kills haven’t’ forgotten”- Q Magazine


Keep On Your Mean Side TRACKLIST


1. Superstition

2. Cat Claw

3. Pull A U

4. Kissy Kissy

5. Fried My Little Brains

6. Hand

7. Hitched

8. Black Rooster

9. Wait

10. Fuck The People

11. Monkey23

12. Gypsy Death & You


Bonus Tracks

13. Gum (Black Rooster EP)

14. Jewel Thief (Fried My Little Brains EP)

15. Sugar baby (Fried My Little Brains EP)

16. The Search for Cherry Red (‘Pull A U’ single)

17. Dropout Boogie (Black Rooster EP)